My late, half-assed 2008 top 10

 2008yearend

 

So in an effort to keep up with publications everywhere and not look like a total slacker, here’s my list of top ten albums of 2008

1. TV On the Radio – Dear Science,
2. Cut Copy – In Ghost Colours
3. Portishead – Third
4. Bun B – II Trill
5. Bonnie Prince Billy – Lie Down In the Light
6. M83 – Saturdays=Youth
7. Wale – Mixtape About Nothing
8. Hot Chip – Made In the Dark
9. Lindstrom – Where You Go I Go Too
10. Erykah Badu – New AmErykah

Because this is coming so late, I’m not going to give too much of an explination into why each one of these landed as they did. However, I will give you some

Bullets:
– TV On the Radio was the pull-away favorite
–  I didn’t listen to any albums more than Bun B or Bonnie “Prince” Billy. They probably shouldn’t be that high but have grown on me exponentially
– Erykah Badu and M83 were both late entries and albums that exploded onto my radar. They’ve both since faded but were strong enough to make my top 10

Ultimately, this was a really strong year for music. Though TVOTR was my outright favorite, I’d say that this year didn’t supply all that much in the way of “great” music but was, top to bottom, one of the best years in recent memory for “very good” music.

Top movies to come

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists, Music

Comments are closed.