Top Records of 2009 – March Edition

Because it’s March and that’s a good a time as any to make a year-end list, here’s a list of albums that might possibly make my year-end list this year:

Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
No surprise here. I have had a number of posts about this record and it still stands as my number one album of the year. Astonishing front to back.

Animal Collective – “My Girls”

Junior Boys – Begone Dull Care
Another record that had it’s own post already, this record has been growing on me since I first started listening to it. Some of the most beautiful melodies I’ve heard in years. This record is almost certainly a lock to make my year-end top 10. It’ll be one hell of a year in music if it doesn’t.

Junior Boys – “Parallel Lines”

Phosphorescent – To Willie
Yep, this disc also had it’s own post (seeing a trend here, no?). I was watching Rob and Big on MTV2 this weekend and heard Willie Nelson’s version of “Gotta Get Drunk” and it reminded me just how good Phosphorescent’s cover of the track is. This is a really power record and one of the best compilations of covers I’ve heard in quite some time.

Phosphorescent – “Reasons to Quit”

DOOM – Born Like This
This is DOOM’s best record in years and a really heartening return to form. He sounds a little younger and rejuvinated on this record, the production is phenomenal, and his flows are crisp once again. Add in a cameo from Ghostface and you’ve got yourself one hell of a record. This one is definitely wavering as far as year-end lists go, however. It might make it, it might not. It’s a good record either way.

DOOM – “Lightworks”

Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
This record leaked sometime last week and I’d be damned if I wasn’t going to jump all over it. Off the strength of the record’s first single, “1901”, this was a record I absolutely had to hear. And it doesn’t disappoint. Though I don’t know anything about the group save for the phenomenal “Too Young” from the Lost In Translation soundtrack, this is just aboutt he best first impression anyone could make. Noisy, fuzzy pop music with dripping melodies and childish innocence. These things make me emoticon 🙂

Phoenix – “1901”

Neko Case – Middle Cyclone
This is Neko’s most captivating record in years. It’s so full of the little intricacies that made her so endearing on her earlier records and features her booming vocals more prominently than her recent records. This is really a beautifully delicate though undeniably affecting record.

Harmonic 313 – When Machines Exceed Human Intelligence
Dubstep what. I can say no more. Beautiful dubstep out of Detroit. Must hear.

Harmonic 313 – “Dirtbox”

That’s about it for now. I’ll try and do a few more of these posts through the year and keep you updated and exactly what you should be listening to. Next record to look forward to: Bonnie “Prince” Billy Beware.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists, Music

Leave a Reply

