Music Diary Project: April 4

The first in a week-long series of tracing my listening experiences for Sick Mouthy.

This is probably the format that I’ll present this information: First the raw data, followed by comments on trends, artists/albums, and general whathaveyou. So without further ado…

Artist Album Time of Day Duration Location Notes
Nicki Minaj, Niko Case, Sean Kingston On the radio 6:50 AM 15 mins Driving to work
Panda Bear Tomboy 7:40 AM 20 mins Work
Panda Bear Tomboy 8:11 AM 30 mins Work
Rittz White Jesus 10:20 AM 12 mins Work
Rittz White Jesus 11:05 AM 35 mins Work
The Mountain Goats All Eternals Deck 11:40 AM 7 mins Work Looking for blogging topics
The Mountain Goats All Eternals Deck 12:00 PM 20 mins Work Music during lunch
Juilanna Barwick The Magic Place 12:50 PM 30 mins Work
The Weeknd House of Balloons 3:08 PM 42 mins Work Intended to last until 4 PM (end of work)
Outkast Southern-playalisticadillacmuzik 3:57 PM 18 mins Driving home from work

The results here don’t surprise me too much. I typically begin my day listening to whatever the radio has to offer. Yesterday’s selection was pretty typical with the exception of a lack of Rihanna’s “S&M” which is played nearly every day.

What you’ll notice is a lot of short listening times at work. It verifies something I already knew, but I stop and start listening to music at work a lot. Whether I’m answering the phone, talking to coworkers, or just need to concentrate harder on whatever I’m writing, work is not a time for extended listening of music, despite the majority of my listening happening there.

An interesting note, however, is that everything I listen to at work is new music. Rittz, Panda Bear, Julianna Barwick, The Mountain Goats, and The Weeknd are all things that have either recently been leaked or released. On my ride home, however, I take in some Outkast, specifically one of their older records. I guess I’ll have to see if that trend holds but at the moment, it’s at least worth noting.

Throughout the day, I listened to music for 229 minutes (3 hours and 49 minutes) which is actually a little higher than I expected it to be. Regardless, I’ll also be keeping track of this to see where I end up at the end of the week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists, Music

Leave a Reply

